Traffic – 1973 – London, UK

John Barleycorn [Oh Boy 1-9030, 1CD]
Live in London 1973. Very good soundboard?

This disc, originally released by the “Oh Boy” label, was recorded live in London in 1973 while the group was touring behind its “Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory” album. Founders Steve Winwood, Chris Wood and Jim Capaldi are joined by bassist Roger Hawkins, percussionist Rebop Kwaku Baah and keyboardist Barry Beckett. – Philip Cohen

At, someone commented that “The quality is good. It sounds like it was taped from vinyl, although very clean vinyl.” Also, there is a version of this disc that contains only the first seven tracks. This is the longer version.

While Steve Winwood has currently found another wind in his sails, there are many fans who feel that Winwood really hit his groove in those early years when he was with the Spencer Davis Group, Traffic and Blind Faith.

As they say, here’s one for the road.

Thanks to Phil for sharing the tracks.

Note: A longtime music fan, Philip Cohen was a contributor to the now-defunct ICE Magazine and compiled the boxsets for The Yardbirds, The Small Faces, Humble Pie and Nice.
Track 01. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring (9.9MB)
Track 02. No Time To Live (9.0MB)
Track 03. Every Mother’s Son (10.8MB)
Track 04. Medicated Goo (4.3MB)
Track 05. John Barleycorn (7.7MB)
06. Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory – Omitted*
07. Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys – Omitted
Track 08. Pearly Queen (7.9MB)
Track 09. Empty Pages (9.8MB)
Track 10. Glad (11.5MB)
Track 11. Freedom Rider (7.9MB)

*Available on the On The Road album.

Steve Winwood – guitar, organ, piano, vocals
Jim Capaldi – drums, percussion vocals
Rebop Kwaku Baah – percussion
Roger Hawkins – bass
Chris Wood – flute, sax, vocals
Barry Beckett – organ

(Visited 215 time, 1 visit today)